2016 MIVA Awards

The 2016 AGM and Awards Night was a huge success with a large turnout and very social evening for all. Thank you to all of you f

  1. *Time Trial Champion, Youth Female  Congratulations to Abigail Hare on her 4th straight TT Points Championship.

  2. *Time Trial: Youth Female Course record Meghan Gillmore managed to set both the 15k course record at 25:20 and the 20k course record at 34:23

  3. *Time Trial Champion, Youth Male  It was a tight battle amongst 3 guys who are amongst MIVA’s most dedicated. Reigning champ Aiden Hare took 3rd with 110 points, while lowering his personal bests in both the 15k and 20k. Second place is the always hard charging Ian Gillmore, who also set PBs in all of his times this year, and took on the 40k just for fun, knocking 17 MINUTES off last years 40k. Taking his first TT title, in his first season racing road bikes, Ayden Houle.

  4. *Time Trial: Youth Male Course record  The 15k record was set last year by Ian at 29:38 (at the ripe age of TEN), bursting on to the scene this year Ayden Houle set the new standard at 24:24 for the 15k. In the 20k he also lowered the course record from 37:07 down to 32:49, thats 36.6 km/hr! Congratulations Ayden Houle.

  5. *Time Trial Champion, Female We saw a huge number of females race the TTs this year week after week. 3rd spot goes to Rose Houle making her return to the TT series after a few years away with 100 points. Last years champion Janna Gillick took 2nd with 108 points, winning all 9 races she entered. Taking her first TT crown was Lorrie Baildham with 116 points, congratulations Lorrie!

  6. *Time Trial Champion, Male  Matthys Redelinghuys took 3rd place with 75 points with some fast times. Former champ Patrick Burnham only missed 1 race all year and took 2nd with 100 points. And Paul Auton managed to take the crown back to back, racing 12 times and winning 7 of those.

  7. *Time Trial: Best All Around Rider, Female Congrats to Janna Gillick on another BAR trophy win, averaging 38km/hr over the 3 distances, a touch faster than 2015. Janna lowered the 15k course record to 23:04, and the 20k down to 31:02 with some huge efforts.


  1. *Time Trial: Best All Around Rider, Male Congrats to Paul Auton on winning the BAR award, averaging over 42km/hr overall.
  2. *Crit Champion, Youth Male Ayden Houle took the title with 138 points, racing in 13 of the 14 crits in his debut season.
  3. *Crit Champion, Female  Janna Gillick takes another Crit title with 110 points.

  4. *Crit Champion, Male 3 men raced almost every Crit this year, and all three made it onto the podium. Mike Sevcov took 3rd with 74 points, and James Sage 2nd with 88 points, both rode every single Crit. Taking his second straight Crit title is Nick Kupiak who won all 12 races he entered to finish with 124 points.
  5. *Hill Climb Champion, Youth Male  Continuing his sweep this season, Ayden Houle won both races he entered in the hill climbs and won them both, setting the course record up Doumont by over a minute, down to 15:48.
  6. *Hill Climb Champion, Female The female category had many new faces this year compared to last. Taking 3rd place was Rose Houle with 45 points, narrowly edging out Tamara Zavarise by 3 points. Lesley Anderson took 2nd overall and 2nd in all 4 races she did to end with 50 points. Winning the hill climb championship with 72 points and a new course record up Doumont in 14:08 was Janna Gillick.

  7. *Hill Climb Champion, Male  The male category was also determined on the final race of the season. In 3rd place was Jim Brown with 41 points who seemed to get faster each race. Eli Buffalo battled hard in all 5 races, even winning the final double points race up Doumont, to take second overall. Congrats to Nick Kupiak for winning his 2nd straight hill climb championship with 68 points.

  8. *Youth Female Overall Champion It was a hard decision for this award as always, but the winner made significant improvements this season while staying dedicated to racing often and racing hard. She won the overall award in 2014 and again now in 2016 her last year as a junior, congrats to Abigail Hare.

  9. *Youth Male Overall Champion This years youth male overall champion raced a total of 27 events, out of the 33 MIVA held. He won all 27 of them in this his rookie year road racing. After a successful BMX career he looks to have made the transition pretty well, congrats to Ayden Houle.
  10. *Most Events Raced: Youth Female Abigail Hare, one of MIVAs most dedicated racers year after year, raced in 11 events overall.

  11. *Most Events Raced: Youth Male Congrats to Ayden Houle for racing in 27 of the 33 MIVA Events this year.

  12. *Most Events Raced: Female Janna Gillick raced 24 events total of the 33.

  13. *Most Events Raced: Male  Lee Zavarise took his racing to a new level this year, even AFTER winning last years most improved male trophy. He took on the Crits for the first time and went on to race 13 of them. Congrats to Lee for most dedicated overall as well, racing 28 of 33 events in 2016.
  14. *Most Improved Female  3 were nominated for this award, all very deserving. Honourable mention has to go to both Kiyomi Schulz and Wendy Hicks who improved immensely. One rider pushed herself incredibly hard all winter never missing spins at the Swet Haus, always attending the Monday Night Rides (and jumping up two groups within it through the summer). She took home the queen of the mountain jersey at the Bike for Breath. She set personal bests in all distances of the TT and at the Hill Climbs, the winner this year is Tamara Zavarise

  15. *Most Improved Male There were many nominees for this award, finally narrowed down to 3 finalists in Jim Brown, Matt Redelinghuys, and James Sage. All 3 were very deserving which made for a very long debate leading to the vote. This years winner worked extremely hard to better himself and his times proved it, the winner this year was Matthys Redelinghuys, well deserved.

  16. *Peter McCaffery Volunteer of the Year Award (trophy) MIVA would not exist without volunteers, plain and simple. We created this award with the namesake of super volunteer Peter McCaffery to honour a person each year who went above and beyond. This is always the hardest choice for the board as there are so many deserving people. From people like Mike McCarney, Patrick Burnham, and Kiyomi Schulz who lead out the Monday Night Rides every week, to Jason Hare who either races or times every week from April through August, to so many others who help out week after week. Honourable mention has to go to Glenn Houle for volunteering often at the TTs and Crit’s week after week, and to Peter for timing the crits when no one else could. In the end one person seemed to be everywhere every race giving what he could. He’d set up the cones and signs for TT’s and Crits, and take them home with him afterward. He’d set up to take photos at any race he didn’t race at. He pushed to get the Diver Lake cross race off the ground. He gave a lot of his time, and for that, congrats to Patrick Burnham.

14591595_10154518316616702_8341823515353176285_n 14753705_10157903064720354_8174006142373119336_o


Club NewsCorey